Another Contest

Well I was not chosen to be one of the secret fragrance testers by Bramble Berry and I must say I was a tad disappointed. I was really looking forward to that but maybe another time. I hardly had any time to be upset before Be Scented started a contest on their site. This is a drop swirl contest and you submit pictures of soaps you have made using the drop swirl technique. That is when you use two or more colors and drop them into the mold moving side to side creating beautiful swirls in the final product. Well at least you hope they look beautiful. I had tried in the pot swirls and hanger swirls but not the plain drop swirl. I thought it was going to be boring but hey they are offering some really good gift certificates so I figured I would give it a shot.  I can’t believe how nervous I was about making the first one. ( we can submit 5)  I think mostly because I know a lot of really good soapers are on this site and I was afraid I would embarrass myself. But then I thought that if it comes out crappy then I just won’t enter it and I will try again.  I did the first one and I really liked the way it came out and got some really good feedback on my Facebook page so I submitted the picture. I have since added three more pictures and have two other soaps that I don’t think came out very well but I may submit one of them. I really really hope I win at least something in this contest. I know I am not nearly as talented as some of the others but I think a couple of mine have come out really well. I sure could use the gift certificate to purchase some holiday fragrances. If I do that I may try to sell some of my soaps at a couple of fairs. I think I am getting to a make it or break it time for me to decide if I am going to move forward or just keep this as a hobby and continue to just give my things to friends and family. So I guess this contest is going to be more important to me than just some bragging rights. These are my four contestants. Not sure if I will add a fifth or not

    
   

Leave a Reply

